Each year, the Farnsworth presents the Maine in America Award at the Summer Gala. The award is presented by the Farnsworth to honor an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to Maine’s role in American art. The 2019 awardees are Rudy Burckhardt, Lois Dodd, Rackstraw Downes, Red Grooms, Mimi Gross, Yvonne Jacquette, Alex Katz, and Neil Welliver.

In the years immediately following the end World War II, a group of young, avant-garde artists based in New York discovered, like generations of artists before them, the pleasures of summering and working in Maine.

What they found in Lincolnville was a simple lifestyle that offered a welcome respite from the often frenetic pace and all-absorbing nature of life in New York. As an added benefit it was inexpensive to live here, important to artists at the very beginning of their careers when financial security was something sought but far from a reality. Importantly, they also found attractive subject matter for their work. The Slab City artists sought an alternative to the Abstract Expressionist styles that dominated critical circles in New York. Maine’s coasts, islands, woodlands, and people provided them with an opportunity to forge new directions through their largely representational work based on what they saw and experienced here.

This group became one of the most important in the 150-year history of artists working in Maine, and they re-established Maine as a source for artistic inspiration in the decades following the Great Depression and World War II, adding a vital chapter in the ongoing story of Maine’s role in American art. Opening on April 13, 2019 and running through March 15, 2020, the Farnsworth Art Museum presents Slab City Rendezvous an exhibition named for the road in Lincolnville on which Katz, Cohen, and Dodd bought a house together in the early 1950s.

More information on the Maine in America Award is available here below.

Farnsworth Summer Gala

July 19 @ 5:00 pm – 11:00 pm
Farnsworth Art Museum
16 Museum St
Rockland, ME 04841-2867

Sylvia de Leon, co-chairperson
Liv Rockefeller, co-chairperson
Evelyn Isom, co-chairperson

This annual Gala celebration is the perfect moment for the Farnsworth to recognize an artist, or patron of the arts, who have significantly furthered Maine’s role in American art.  Each year, the presentation of the Maine in America Award is the kick-off of the spectacular Gala celebration. Congratulations to the Slab City artists, our 2019 Maine in America Award winner. Please enjoy an album of the photos from the 2018 Gala here, and another album here.


Download a two-page PDF describing Gala sponsorship benefits, including special sponsorship levels for 2019.

Call Katherine White, Events and Membership Manager, at 207.390.6013 for more information.



Diamond $25,000
Evelyn and Gerry Isom

Ruby $20,000
Charles Altschul
Gail and John Bertuzzi

Gold $15,000
Ann and Dick Costello
Sylvia de Leon and Lynn R. Coleman
Commerical Tent

Silver $10,000
Charles Butt
Tina and Joe Pyne
Susan and George Schreiber
Laura and Ed Waller

Bronze $5,000
The Cascade Foundation
Mazie Livingston Cox and Brinkley Thorne
Susan Deutsch and Carlisle Towery
Dowling Walsh Gallery
The Gilder Foundation
Peter Rothschild
Tom and Beth Renyi
Toshiko Mori

Copper $2,500
Charlton and Noni Ames
Kit and Richard Aroneau
John and Mary Alice Bird
Paula Carreiro and Peter Branch
Julie P. Cawley
Randall Chanler and Andrew Stancioff
Lucy and Bill Farland
Lisa and Brian Garrison
Anna Grace and Paul Holloway
Scott Chamberlain Hoyt
Suzanne and Douglas Kahn
Molly and Frederic Kellogg
Gregory and Donna Knowlton
Ed and Carol Miller
John and Sandra Moore
David and Gayle Noble
Annie de Cossy
Ellen Seidman and Walt Slocombe
Ron Stern and Elisse Walter
Norman and Susan Thomas
Mary H. White
F.L. Putnam Investment Management Company
Macpage LLC

Brass $1,500
Keith and Mary Collins
James and Anne Jenkins
Eric Grossman, M.D.
Dick and Lydia Kaeyer
Cliff and Sheryl Dacso
Sabina A. Wood Art & Antiques

Primary Media Sponsor
Maine Home + Design