Each year, the Farnsworth presents the Maine in America award at the summer gala. The award is presented by the Farnsworth to honor an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to Maine’s role in American art.

The Farnsworth Art Museum owes its existence to one such woman who, through her generosity and vision, helped transform the small, working-class city of Rockland into what is now recognized as the art capital of Maine.

Born in 1838, LUCY COPELAND FARNSWORTH was one of six children. She would outlive her siblings by twenty-eight years and her mother by twenty-five. After their deaths, she continued to live in the family home, the
Homestead, located just behind the museum on Elm Street where she died in 1935 at age ninety-seven.

Thanks to a generous inheritance from her father and brother James, and thanks as well to her own business acumen, Lucy left a sizable estate which she used to establish the William A. Farnsworth Library and Art Museum. The museum officially opened in August 1948.

In the spirit of Lucy, the Farnsworth will honor twelve other Women of Vision with the Maine in America
Award in 2020.

In 2020, the Farnsworth will honor Lucy Copeland Farnsworth and 12 other Women of Vision with the Maine in America award for the profound impact they have made on Maine’s role in American art.

A central figure in—and an important bridge between— the photographic circles and cultural hubs of Paris and New York, Abbott made a major contribution to 20th-century photography with her ambitious project to photograph the people and places along US Route 1 from Florida to New York.

An entrepreneur and successful businesswoman, Bean is a descendant of L.L. Bean founder Leon Bean. A major supporter of the arts and land conservation in Maine, Bean is an important collector of the work of N.C. Wyeth. She has provided major support for the Farnsworth’s Wyeth Center and numerous other museum initiatives.

A self-taught painter, Bradford explores the complexities of loneliness, agency, gender roles, and consciousness, among other topics. She received a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Joan Mitchell Foundation Award, a Pollock Krasner Grant, and two awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

A champion for art, Dixon and her late husband F. Eugene Dixon purchased Robert Indiana’s LOVE sculpture in 1978 for the City of Philadelphia to mark its bicentennial. Since 2009, Dixon has supported the installation of Indiana’s EAT sculpture on the Farnsworth roof—a work that has become the symbol of Rockland’s emergence as the art capital of Maine.

An artist whose practice seeks to find the magic in everyday life, Harvey’s work has been reviewed and featured in the New York Times, BBC, Vogue, the Wall Street Journal, the Independent, and New York Magazine. She is the author of three sold-out books, and her work is in the collections of major American museums, including the Farnsworth Art Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts Boston, and the Museum of Fine Arts Houston.

Born in Rockland, poet and playwright Millay came to prominence in 1912 when she recited her poem “Renascence” for guests attending a party at Camden’s Whitehall Inn. One attendee was so taken with the work that she sponsored Millay’s college education at Vassar. Millay went on to become one of America’s best-known poets. She received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1923 and was known for her feminist activism.

Recognized as one of the most important and innovative sculptors of the 20th century, Nevelson was born in present-day Ukraine in 1899. Her family fled persecution against the Jews to Rockland in 1905. Nevelson is included in many of the most important museum collections in the world, and the Farnsworth owns the second-largest public collection of her work.

A major American philanthropist, Noyce has had a significant impact on the Farnsworth Art Museum. Her bequest of the Elizabeth B. Noyce Collection included 69 works to the Farnsworth, with work by George Bellows, Marsden Hartley, Winslow Homer, Edward Hopper, Emily Muir, and more. Noyce also created the Libra Foundation and founded the Maine Bank and Trust Company to help Maine businesses and causes.

The matriarch of four generations of Passamaquoddy basket weavers, Parker began weaving baskets at a young age, using the scraps of ash wood that fell to the floor as her mother worked. Today, Parker leads efforts to share this tradition with young people. Born in Indian Township, she is a recipient of a Maine Arts Commission Fellowship Award for Traditional Arts, a New England Foundation for the Arts Native Arts Award, and a First Peoples Fund Community Spirit Award.

A lifelong activist for women’s rights as well as an avid supporter of the visual arts, Rothschild was the Farnsworth’s first board president. She led the museum to national prominence, recruiting an accomplished board of trustees and a professional staff. Rothschild’s advocacy efforts took her to Israel, Eritrea, and Somalia to promote peace and women’s rights.

An extraordinary advocate for the arts, education, and the rights of the disabled, Wyeth consulted with the National Endowment for the Arts, the White House, and the President’s Committee. Her love of Maine led to the founding of Herring Gut Learning Center to teach marine conservation. She transformed the Farnsworth by raising funds for endowment and supporting community programs such as Share the Wonder.

A painter, textile artist, and designer, Zorach was a major figure in American modernism. During her fifty-five-year career, she exhibited in the famed 1913 Armory Show in New York City, was featured among the “radicals” of 33 Moderns at the Grand Central Galleries, and was awarded commissions to execute murals in US Post Office buildings around the country.

Past Winners:

2019: The artists of Slab City Rendezvous

Architect Toshiko Mori receiving the 2018 Maine in America award from Farnsworth Director Christopher J. Brownawell

2018: Toshiko Mori

2017: Betsy Wyeth

2016: Joyce Tenneson

2015: Lois Dodd

2014: The Shakers of Sabbathday Lake

2013: Matthew Simmons

2012: Dahlov Ipcar

2011: Paul Caponigro

2010: Alex Katz

2009: Robert Indiana

2008: Will Barnet

2007: Andrew Wyeth

2006: John Wilmerding