The 1850 Farnsworth Homestead was the home of Lucy Farnsworth, the museum’s original benefactor. It is on the National List of Historic Places and is part of the main museum campus.
For the health and safety of our visitors, staff, and volunteers, the Homestead is closed until further notice.
The architectural style of the house and outbuildings is Greek Revival but the interior is decorated in high Victorian style. The elegant structure has survived intact, with virtually no adaptation. Minimal electrical systems were added for safety purposes, but all the original heating and plumbing is still in place, including what was probably the first indoor bathroom with a flush toilet in the city.
Thanks to a generous inheritance from her father and brother James, and to her own business acumen, Lucy Farnsworth left a sizable estate. She directed that the bulk of it be used to establish the William A. Farnsworth Library and Art Museum as a memorial to her father. She recognized the historical importance and the potential educational value of the family’s house and left instructions that it be maintained with the original furnishings and be kept open to the public. The Homestead was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
The Farnsworth Homestead is not wheelchair accessible.
Explore the Farnsworth Homestead Virtually in 3D
Please click here or on the image below.